Kirby Inland Marine operates the nation’s largest fleet of inland tank barges and towing vessels. Petrochemicals, such as styrene, benzene and methanol; liquid fertilizer, including anhydrous ammonia; refined products, including gasoline, diesel and jet fuel; black oil, such as asphalt, No. 6 fuel oil, crude oil and coker fuel; and pressurized products, such as butane, propane and butadiene, are transported efficiently and safely from producers to intermediaries to end users.

Kirby’s service area spans America’s inland waterway network: The Gulf Intracoastal Waterway, the Mississippi River, the Illinois River, the Ohio River and numerous other waterways. Kirby operates 876 active inland tank barges and 230 active towing vessels. Kirby represents the industry leader in safety, customer service and environmental protection.

Kirby Inland Marine Operates

876
Active Inland Tank Barges
230
active towing vessels
17.9
million barrels of capacity

View Kirby Inland Barge Information

pho_marinetransportation_1

Why Kirby

 

Kirby Inland Marine seeks opportunities where it can add value to the transportation services it provides. Safety and environmental protection are of paramount importance for Kirby and our customers. With respect to these issues, Kirby’s record is exemplary, as recognized by the U.S. Department of Transportation and U.S. Coast Guard in awarding Kirby the first William M. Benkert Award in 1995.

 

The operating segments comprising Kirby Inland Marine have been certified through a program called International Quality Standard, ISO 9002. ISO certification is difficult to attain, requiring many hours of hard work. The pay off is consistent and reliable service, safer operations and lower costs.

 

In 1998 Kirby became certified under the AWO Responsible Carrier Program. The AWO Responsible Carrier Program insures the implementation of a comprehensive safety management system through the use of 3rd party auditors.

 

Kirby prides itself on having the best-trained crews and support staff in the industry, providing both formal classroom and hands-on instruction at the Kirby Training Center in Houston, Texas.

 

As a leader in our industry, Kirby Inland Marine maintains a strong presence in industry programs, regulations and legislation that affect both our operating environment and that of our customers.

 

With qualifications like these, Kirby Inland Marine has clearly made a strong commitment to be the premier marine transportation company, making your choice for marine transportation services in the United States an obvious one.

pho_marinetransportation_2

Services

 

The primary cargoes transported by this fleet are chemicals, petrochemical feedstocks, gasoline additives, refined petroleum products, liquid fertilizer, black oil and pressurized products. This fleet represents the broadest capabilities in the marine inland tank barge industry to satisfy customers’ diverse needs.

 

Kirby Inland Marine is the supplier most likely to have a barge and towboat available nearest a customer’s pickup point and, through a centralized dispatching system, can minimize repositioning and power costs. Kirby Inland Marine brings these operating efficiencies to serve our customers.

 

Where We Operate

 

The United States inland waterway system extends 26,000 miles, with 12,000 miles used for significant domestic commerce. This navigable waterway system links the United States heartland to the world. Kirby’s primary inland distribution area encompasses the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway from Brownsville, Texas, to St. Marks, Florida, plus the Mississippi River and its tributaries. Kirby Inland Marine is capable of transporting liquid bulk cargoes from one end of this inland waterway network to the other without a change of carrier.

 

How We Operate

 

Canal

 

Kirby Inland Marine’s Canal operation encompasses the transportation of petrochemical feedstocks, black oil, pressurized products, processed chemicals and refined products along the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway, the Mississippi River below Baton Rouge, and in the Houston Ship Channel. Typical service includes the movement of petrochemical feedstocks between refineries and the delivery of processed chemicals and feedstocks to chemical plants and waterfront terminals. A canal tow consists of one to five barges, pushed by an 800 to 2200 horsepower towboat.

 

River

 

Kirby Inland Marine’s River operation transports petrochemical feedstocks, processed chemicals, refined petroleum products and agricultural chemicals along the Mississippi, Illinois, Ohio and Arkansas Rivers. A river unit tow typically includes four to eight barges, pushed by a 2000 to 5600 horsepower towboat. River unit tows are generally considered “dedicated”, with the same barges and towboat used for each trip.

 

Linehaul

 

Kirby Inland Marine’s Linehaul operation transports petrochemical feedstocks, processed chemicals, agricultural chemicals and lube oils along the Mississippi, Illinois and Ohio Rivers, as well as the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway. A linehaul canal tow usually comprises three to five barges with a 1400 to 2200 horsepower towboat.  A linehaul river tow is much longer, consisting of 10 to 25 barges and using a 3000 to 5600 horsepower towboat. The linehaul river tow functions similarly to a freight train, dropping off and picking up barges as it moves up and down the river.

 

Typically, loaded barges containing products from Gulf Coast refineries and petrochemical plants are collected in the lower Mississippi River area near Baton Rouge, Louisiana and transported up river to river-front terminals and plants on the Mississippi, Illinois and Ohio Rivers.

 

Pressurized Fleet

 

Kirby operates the largest pressurized fleet in the U.S. These pressurized barges can handle products requiring pressures up to 265 psi. Kirby tankermen and shore personnel are specially trained in pressurized transportation technology and have a safety record that is among the best in the industry. Kirby is the leader in the technology of marine transportation of pressurized products. Transporting your pressurized products via Kirby ensures that your products will be delivered safely and reliably.

 

Black Oil Fleet

 

Kirby’s fleet of black oil barges is equipped to handle the requirements of a wide range of product characteristics. Many of these barges feature high-capacity pumps and onboard heating systems for viscous oils including asphalt. Such flexibility contributes to Kirby’s ability to satisfy our customer’s needs for transporting a wide range of cargo viscosities. Refiners along the Gulf Coast count on Kirby for efficient delivery of black oils to meet their refining schedules.

 

Ship Bunkering Fleet (Fueling of Ships)

 

Ship owners and bunker suppliers rely on Kirby’s fleet of bunkering barges, one of the largest along the Gulf Coast. These barges feature flow-through booms and are dispatched and deployed using a satellite communications system. This system also provides customers with up-to-the-minute position and scheduling information. You can trust Kirby for on-time bunkering to help you control your total cost of operations.

 

Inland Marine Offshore Marine Ocean Transport Osprey Line Logistics Management
Sales Contacts
NamePositionPhoneEmail
Bill Ivey

President, Kirby Marine Transportation Group

713-435-1120

bill.ivey@kirbycorp.com

Christian O’Neil

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

713-435-1253

christian.oneil@kirbycorp.com

Mel Jodeit

Executive Vice President – KIM Marketing

713-435-1121

mel.jodeit@kirbycorp.com

Clean Products
Patrick Kelly

Vice President – KIM Sales

713-435-1198

patrick.kelly@kirbycorp.com

Cliff Stanich

Vice President – KIM Sales

713-435-1185

cliff.stanich@kirbycorp.com

Toby Whitehead

Vice President – KIM Sales

713-435-1113

toby.whitehead@kirbycorp.com

Jason Kunz

General Manager – Sales

713-435-1082

jason.kunz@kirbycorp.com

Brian Benoit

Sales Manager – Clean Products

713-435-1051

brian.benoit@kirbycorp.com

J.D. Futch

Sales Manager – Clean Products

713-435-1478

jd.futch@kirbycorp.com

Linda Young

Sales Manager – Clean Products

713-435-1468

linda.young@kirbycorp.com

Trent Derise

Equipment Optimization Manager

713-435-1470

trent.derise@kirbycorp.com

Black Oil
Lyle Marshall

Vice President – Sales

713-435-1479

lyle.marshall@kirbycorp.com

Jack Swiggett

Sales Manager – Bunkering / Pressure

713-435-1487

jack.swiggett@kirbycorp.com

Emiliano Zapata

Sales Manager – Black Oil

713-435-1415

emiliano.zapata@kirbycorp.com

River Refined
Bill Withers

Senior Vice President – KIM / KOM Sales

713-435-1431

bill.withers@kirbycorp.com

Steve Butts

Vice President – KIM Sales

713-435-1020

steve.butts@kirbycorp.com

Jesse Outlaw

Sales Manager – River Refined Products

713-435-1025

jesse.outlaw@kirbycorp.com

Jessica Stanfield

Sales Manager – Ag Chemicals

713-435-1350

jessica.stanfield@kirbycorp.com

Operations Contacts
NamePositionPhoneEmail
Jim Guidry

Executive Vice President, Vessel Operations – Marine Transportation Group

713-435-1640

jim.guidry@kirbycorp.com

Lester Parker

Vice President – River Operations

225-201-3009

lester.parker@kirbycorp.com

Todd Behlke

General Manager – Canal Operations

713-435-1653

todd.behlke@kirbycorp.com

Jimbo Giddens

Operations Manager – River Operations

225-201-3007

jimbo.giddens@kirbycorp.com

James Hard

Operations Manager – Canal Operations

713-435-1823

james.hard@kirbycorp.com

Troy Chapman

Vetting Supervisor

713-435-1691

troy.chapman@kirbycorp.com

Shawn Savage

Crew Logistics Supervisor

713-435-1835

shawn.savage@kirbycorp.com

Billy Shaver

Personnel Manager

713-435-1832

billy.shaver@kirbycorp.com

Billy Thompson

Assistant Personnel Manager

225-201-3013

billy.thompson@kirbycorp.com

Facility Operations Contacts
NamePositionPhoneEmail
Joe Reniers

Executive Vice President, Diesel Engine Services and Supply Chain

713-435-1223

joe.reniers@kirbycorp.com

Shari Don Austin

Facilities Manager

713-435-1810

shari.austin@kirbycorp.com

Steven Caruselle

Manager – Barge Operations & Environmental

713-435-1825

steven.caruselle@kirbycorp.com

Anthony Hunter

Operations Manager – Fleets

713-435-1816

anthony.hunter@kirbycorp.com

Clay Scott

Supervisor Corpus Christi Operations

361-696-3802

clay.scott@kirbycorp.com

Operations Personnel And Training Contacts
NamePositionPhoneEmail
Kyle Buese

General Manager Vessel Operations

713-435-1780

kyle.buese@kirbycorp.com

Augi Colchado

Crew Development Manager

713-435-1831

agustin.colchado@kirbycorp.com

Kenny Shaver

Training Manager

713-435-1780

kenny.shaver@kirbycorp.com

Elizabeth Carlson

Recruiting Manager

713-435-1856

elizabeth.carlson@kirbycorp.com

John Moyle

Manager – Licensing and Upgrading

713-435-1778

john.moyle@kirbycorp.com

Brooke Russell

Occupational Health Nurse

713-435-1693

brooke.russell@kirbycorp.com

Kenny Shaver

General Manager – Operation Personnel and Training

713-435-1833

kenny.shaver@kirbycorp.com

Traffic Contacts
NamePositionPhoneEmail
Richard Northcutt

Vice President – Sales HP Management

713-435-1472

richard.northcutt@kirbycorp.com

Mary Bauer

Traffic Services Supervisor

713-435-1176

mary.bauer@kirbycorp.com

Tim Linehan

HP Manager West Canal

713-435-1093

tim.linehan@kirbycorp.com

Jeff Seymour

Sales Manager – Towing

713-435-1320

jeff.seymour@kirbycorp.com

Buddy Shepherd

HP Manager – River Units

713-435-1426

buddy.shepherd@kirbycorp.com

William Swinney

Customer Service Manager

713-435-1027

william.swinney@kirbycorp.com

Pat Tierney

HP Manager East Canal

713-435-1484

patrick.tierney@kirbycorp.com

Vendor Contacts
NamePositionPhoneEmail

 

 

vendors@kirbycorp.com